The Institute for Supply Management™ Presents Ralph G. Kauffman, Ph.D., C.P.M., with the J. Shipman Gold Medal Award

FOR RELEASE: May 7, 2002

CONTACT: Kristen Kioa
  ISM Media Relations
  800/888-6276 ext. 3015

(Tempe, AZ) - The Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) presented its most distinguished award, the J. Shipman Gold Medal Award, to Ralph G. Kauffman, Ph.D., C.P.M. at the ISM 87th Annual International Supply Management Conference and Educational Exhibit in San Francisco, California on May 7, 2002.

The J. Shipman Gold Medal Award was created by the Purchasing Management Association of New York in 1931 and is presented to those individuals whose modest, unselfish, sincere, and persistent efforts have aided the advancement of the supply management field. Those chosen for the award have also assisted and guided members of the supply management profession in their endeavors.

Kauffman was selected and honored for his 34 years of experience in supply management and for being an active member of and contributor to the Institute for Supply Management™ for more than 21 years.

Kauffman began his career in 1963 as a distribution engineer and has since held many distinguished positions within the supply management profession. His responsibilities have included purchasing, materials management, contracting, transportation, inventory management and systems, equipment repair, and utilization management. In those positions, Kauffman was praised for developing a JIT strategy, managing/implementing a system of recycling field equipment, reengineering purchasing/materials programs, replacing warehouses with supplier managed inventory systems, and developing and implementing a supply management system for providing materials and services in Kazakhstan and Equador.

Kauffman joined the Institute for Supply Management™ in 1981 and has been a member of the NAPM-Houston, NAPM-Dallas, and NAPM-Philadelphia affiliates. He has been a director at large, chair of the Petroleum Committee, a member of the Pro D Committee, the Global Resources Committee, the Bylaw Revision Committee, and coordinator for the Pilot C.P.M. Examination Program at the affiliate level.

For the national association, he has been a member of the Educational Resources Committee and chaired the Doctoral Dissertation Subcommittee. Among his many contributions to ISM, Kauffman has been a member of the National Business Survey Advisory Committee; chair, National Manufacturing Business Survey Committee; chair, Non Manufacturing Development Committee; and is currently chair, Non-Manufacturing Business Survey Committee. Through these activities, he established and implemented the Non-Manufacturing ISM Report On Business®, which accounts for over 80 percent of the Gross Domestic Product. Through the Reports On Business®, he has represented ISM throughout the business world through publications, presentations, press releases, and press conferences. He has also provided liaison concerning the monthly survey with the Department of Commerce and the Federal Reserve System. Kauffman has also served as co-editor of the Purchasing Handbook, authored many articles in other ISM publications, and taught and developed courses.

Kauffman is also a teacher with experience in traditional teaching, interactive television, and distance learning through the Internet. He is currently an assistant professor at the University of Houston-Downtown, where he coordinates the purchasing and supply management undergraduate program, teaches courses in that program, and conducts research in the purchasing/supply management field. He is a member of the American Marketing Association, the Southeast Texas Association of Public Purchasing, the City Strategic Procurement Steering Committee, and the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences.

Throughout his career, Kauffman has represented ISM and the supply management profession with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, and ethical standards. The members of the J. Shipman Award Committee, Lois A. DeHaan, C.P.M., Robert E. Eichhorn, C.P.M., Richard E. Lohmann, C.P.M., and William E. Witzell, C.P.M., and everyone associated with ISM and the supply management field congratulate Ralph G. Kauffman, Ph.D., C.P.M. on this prestigious award.

The Institute for Supply Management™, established in 1915, is the world's leading educator of supply management professionals and is a valuable resource for decision makers in major markets, companies, and government. In May 2001, the membership of NAPM voted to change the association's name from the National Association of Purchasing Management to the Institute for Supply Management™to reflect the increasing strategic and global significance of supply management. For further information, see the ISM Web site at