ISM Announces 2005 Board of Directors

FOR RELEASE: February 10, 2005

CONTACT: Jean McHale
  ISM Public Relations
  800/888-6276 ext. 3143

TEMPE, Ariz. — The leading organization for supply management professionals, Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM), announces its 2005 Board of Directors. The leadership-based board is made up of business leaders who hold senior level positions. The 2005 ISM Board of Directors is:

Chair, Theresa Metty, C.P.M., is senior vice president and chief procurement officer for Motorola, Inc. Metty oversees all Motorola direct material purchases, ranging from components and materials to third party services and software, with a special focus on developing and implementing strategic policies and processes that leverage Motorola's global purchasing power.

S. Tyrone (Ty) Alexander is executive vice president, human resources and administrative services for Highmark Inc. He provides executive leadership and strategic direction in development and implementation of policies and programs relating to human resources, including staffing, compensation, employee compensation, employee relations and services, labor relations, and training and development for 12,000 employees. He is responsible for leadership of administrative services, including the lease, purchase and maintenance of facilities, as well as corporate procurement, fleet management, food services, corporate travel, risk management, business continuity and office administrative services operations for all locations.

John D. Blascovich is a vice president for A.T. Kearney, Inc., the management consulting business unit of EDS. He directs A.T. Kearney's global procurement competency center. Blascovich's work with A.T. Kearney's international corporate clients has focused on creating meaningful and sustainable cost reduction through large-scale procurement transformation initiatives.

Christine S. Breves, C.P.M., is chief procurement officer for Alcoa Inc.

Ian J. Crawford is vice president, global procurement sourcing for IBM Corp. Throughout his 26-year career at IBM, he has held top positions in Production Procurement, Integrated Supply Chain Group and IBM Personal Systems Group (PSG).

Willie A. Deese is senior vice president, global procurement for Merck and Co., Inc., where he manages global procurement of $7 billion of goods and services.

Jack Futcher is senior vice president and deputy project director for Bechtel Corporation. He is responsible for the engineering, procurement and construction of a major liquefied natural gas (LNG) project located in Idku, Egypt.

Barron H. Harvey, Ph.D., CPA, is dean of Howard University's School of Business. He is also a tenured member of the faculty and has served as a full professor in the Department of Accounting for more than 15 years. During his academic career he has held numerous administrative positions, including MBA director, departmental chair and interim dean.

Holly LaCroix Johnson, senior vice president, Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM), is corporate secretary for the ISM Board of Directors. In addition, Johnson is responsible for the departments of marketing and sales, educational development resources, communication, certification and diversity, as well as onsite sales and virtual education sales.

Barbara B. Lang is president and chief executive officer of the DC Chamber of Commerce. In this role, she has the responsibility for the day-to-day and the strategic operation of the Chamber — the premier advocate of business in the District of Columbia.

Lisa Martin is vice president, global sourcing (PGS) for Pfizer Inc. Her organization has responsibility for leveraging the company's cross-divisional spend of approximately $15 billion to achieve cost savings and productivity.

Tony Milikin is senior vice president — global supply chain for MeadWestvaco Corporation, a leading global producer of packaging, coated and specialty papers, consumer and office products, and specialty chemicals. He is responsible for managing $4.5 billion in spend annually for the company, which has 153 operating and office locations in 29 countries.

R. David Nelson, C.P.M., is vice president, global supply management for Delphi Corporation, the world's largest maker of automotive and transportation electronics and systems. He is a member of the Delphi Strategy Board, the company's top policy-making group and also serves as the executive champion for Delphi's Global Supply Management Task Team.

Paul Novak, C.P.M., A.P.P., is ISM's chief executive officer. Novak led the institute in a major change in its governance, which has resulted in the implementation of a leadership-based board of directors. Following this change, Novak led the organization in broadening its focus from purchasing into supply management.

Deborah Webber, C.P.M., senior vice president, ISM, is corporate treasurer for the ISM Board of Directors. In addition, Webber is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the institute, which include customer service, accounting, information systems/technology and the Web site, purchasing/contracting, human resources, affiliate support, meeting planning and membership marketing.

Back to Top