ISM Names Persons of the Year

FOR RELEASE: May 4, 2009

Supply chain professionals honored for their contributions to their affiliates and the profession.

(Tempe, Ariz.) May 4, 2009 — Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) has announced its Persons of the Year Awards, honoring those who have made significant contributions to ISM and the supply management profession. Winners were recognized at an appreciation breakfast today during ISM's 94th Annual International Supply Management Conference and Educational Exhibit, in Charlotte, North Carolina. Persons of the Year Awards recognize excellence in the areas of Education/Learning, Innovation/Creativity, Leadership, Marketing/Communicating and Volunteerism. The 2008 ISM Persons of the Year recipients are:

Education/Learning Person of the Year
Lynne Adams, CPSM, C.P.M.,
NAPM—New Mexico, Inc.
Lynne Adams, CPSM, C.P.M., supports educational opportunities for all affiliate members and serves as the Certification chair for NAPM—New Mexico, Inc. She is admired for being a great motivator and for the enthusiasm she shares while encouraging candidates who are pursuing certification, mentoring students, and striving to provide variety programming. She has even offered scholarships to individuals who would not otherwise qualify for reimbursement from their employers. Adams participated in ISM's Certified Professional in Supply Management® (CPSM®) pilot testing and was among the first to earn the CPSM®. She has attended Train-the-Trainer workshops to help others to prepare for the CPSM® Exam. Adams is employed with Sandia National Laboratories and works in the area of Supply Chain Policy and Quality.

Marketing/Communicating Person of the Year
Stephen Grzesik, C.P.M.,
Connecticut Association of Purchasing Management, Inc.
Stephen Grzesik, C.P.M., is an energizing force in his affiliate's marketing and outreach efforts. He encourages fellow committee members to use various media resources to welcome and educate new members as well as engage existing members. Under his leadership, the Marketing and Membership Committee's e-mail campaigns and telephone outreach were targeted, scripted and fit into a larger overall strategy. Grzesik also leveraged Supply Management Month as an opportunity to raise awareness in the community and promote teamwork among members by organizing a "virtual" food drive. Grzesik is employed at Pratt & Whitney in East Hartford, Connecticut and is supply chain lead in Commercial Engines & Global Services (CE&GS). He is responsible for the delivery assurance of critical commercial spare parts along with implementing strategic continuous improvement initiatives.

Volunteer Person of the Year
Sharon Malkovicz, C.P.M.,
NAPM—Houston, Inc.
Sharon Malkovicz, C.P.M., is a longtime affiliate member and volunteer who never forgets what it can feel like to be a new member of a group. She is admired for her ability to pull people together to form a team, then build up each team member to ensure that they're comfortable in their role and have a successful volunteer experience. Malkovicz has participated in ISM's Leadership Training Workshops for more than seven years. She is a past affiliate president and has been a member of NAPM—Houston, Inc.'s special activities committee for more than 10 years. Malkovicz is immediate past chair of the ISM Southwest Forum. She is currently employed at Hewlett-Packard, where she is a commodity manager on the Blade Server team.

Leadership Person of the Year
Mary M. Sieger, C.P.M.,
ISM—Milwaukee, Inc.
Mary M. Sieger, C.P.M., has devoted countless hours of creative energy and vision to her affiliate. During her term as president, Sieger worked closely with the Membership Committee to set growth goals and develop programs that would be attractive to both new and potential members. She has encouraged the University committee to broaden its outreach program. Today, ISM—Milwaukee, Inc. has a scholarship program with UW–Whitewater, and there is a working relationship with UW–Milwaukee, Marquette University and Carroll University. Sieger has been a member of the ISM Affiliate Support Council as well as the ISM Leadership Workshop Committee. Sieger is a commodity manager at Seaquist Closures. For the past two years, she has chaired the sustainability efforts at Seaquist and led teams in the areas of molding partner improvements, vendor-managed inventory programs and other continuous improvement efforts.

Innovation/Creativity Person of the Year
Michael L. Taylor, C.P.M.,
NAPM—Columbia Basin, Inc.
Michael L. Taylor, C.P.M., leads technology efforts for his affiliate. His can-do attitude and search for nontraditional solutions encourages others to adopt positive attitudes and view challenges as an opportunity to improve processes and remove complexity. Taylor strives to utilize software to its full advantage. When new information or new technology becomes available, he shares information through his e-newsletter and on his Web site. Taylor is the developer and owner of MLTWEB.COM and the PURCHASING TOOLBOX, a Web site of resources and information for purchasing professionals. Taylor is presently a supply chain specialist for the CH2M Hill Plateau Remediation Company at the Department of Energy Hanford Site. His team is responsible for procurement policies, professional and technical training, purchasing ADP systems, procedures and electronic records.

As the largest supply management institute in the world, the mission of Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) is to lead supply management. By executing and extending its mission through education, research, standards of excellence, influence building and information dissemination — including the renowned monthly ISM Report On Business® — ISM continues to extend the global impact of supply management. ISM is a not-for-profit membership association serving more than 40,000 supply management professionals in 75 countries. ISM offers credentialing to professionals around the world with the Certified Professional in Supply Management® (CPSM®) qualification. ISM is a member of the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management (IFPSM).

Media Contact:
ISM Public Relations
Jean McHale, extension 3143