ISM Announces 2009 Board of Directors

FOR RELEASE: February 13, 2009

Media Contact:
ISM Public Relations
Jean McHale, extension 3143

Senior-Level professionals continue to lead ISM and supply management on an international level.

(TEMPE, Ariz.) February 13, 2009 — The leading organization for supply management professionals, Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM), announces its 2009 Board of Directors. The leadership-based Board is made up of business leaders who hold senior-level positions throughout the world. The 2009 ISM Board of Directors is:

Chair, Shelley Stewart, Jr. is senior vice president, operational excellence and chief procurement officer at Tyco International. In this position, Stewart leads Tyco's Six Sigma, lean manufacturing, information technology, working capital, real estate and supply chain initiatives across the company. Stewart is responsible for $13 billion in procurement spend, and $600 million in IT costs, and leads cross-divisional teams in an effort to reduce cost and increase efficiency throughout Tyco.

S. Tyrone (Ty) Alexander is executive vice president, human resources and administrative services for Highmark Inc. In this position, he provides executive leadership and strategic direction in the development and implementation of policies and programs related to human resources, including staffing, benefits, compensation, employee relations, and training and development for more than 11,000 employees. In addition, he is responsible for leadership of administrative services, including the lease, purchase and maintenance of facilities, as well as corporate procurement, fleet management, food services, corporate travel, risk management and office administrative support operations for all Highmark locations.

Jean Baderschneider is vice president, global procurement for Exxon Mobil Corporation. She is responsible for procurement, strategic sourcing, supply chain management, warehousing and accounts payable worldwide. Her experience includes assignments in refining, marketing, exploration and producing as well as corporate-level assignments.

Julia Brown is senior vice president of procurement for Kraft Foods Inc. She is responsible for the procurement of all goods and services for Kraft Foods worldwide. This extends across the spend areas and includes risk management, strategic sourcing, and supporting tools and processes that drive collaboration with supplier partners.

Christina De Luca is chief procurement officer, refining and marketing at BP p.l.c. in London. De Luca is responsible for procurement of all non-hydrocarbon spend, totaling more than $15 billion, as well as oversight for BP p.l.c.'s purchase to pay processes.

Aaron D. Dent is managing partner of Insight–DRB, LLC., a strategy, operations and supply management consultancy to private equity firms. He is also a partner in WRAA, Inc. and several of its affiliates, focused on developing and operating "The Grape" wine bar/gourmet bistro stores internationally.

Holly LaCroix Johnson, senior vice president at Institute for Supply Management™, is corporate secretary for the ISM Board of Directors. Johnson has been a staff member at ISM since July 1989. Johnson has managed many areas of ISM, including communications, professional credentials, education and marketing.

Sidney Johnson is vice president, global supply management at Delphi Corporation. Johnson has held increasingly responsible positions at Delphi, including: supplier quality manager at the former Delphi Interior Systems; director, North American purchasing for Delphi Packard Electric Systems; and director, global supply management for Delphi Packard Electric Systems. He is a member of the Delphi Strategy Board, the company’s top policy-making group. Additionally, Johnson serves as the executive champion for the DGSM Task Team.

Paul Novak, CPSM, C.P.M., A.P.P., is ISM's chief executive officer. Novak led the institute in a major change in its governance, the implementation of a Board of Directors comprised of senior officers at major companies. Following this change, Novak led the organization in broadening its focus from purchasing into supply management. Novak is in his second year of a two-year term as president of the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management (IFPSM).

Michael Orris, Ed.D., is chief procurement officer for Rolls-Royce plc, in London. An experienced and tested leader with proven results in major multinational corporations, Orris has a strong background in all aspects of supply management, with executive responsibility for directing multibillion-dollar spends. Formerly, Orris was executive director of Delphi Supply Management and corporate director of the company-wide initiative Enterprisewide direct Material Attack on Costs (EMAC).

Grace Puma is senior vice president, strategic sourcing and chief procurement officer for indirect materials and services global supply chain at United Airlines. Her responsibilities include leading the Global Strategic Sourcing organization at United for all purchases. Prior to joining United Airlines, Puma worked as a senior leader at Kraft Foods.

Craig Reed is senior vice president, supply chain management at Eaton Corporation. Reed has supply chain management experience with MeadWestvaco, Delta Air Lines, Deere & Co., BMW Manufacturing and Honda of America Manufacturing. Reed is also a speaker on the profession of supply chain management and has presented at universities as well as conferences on such topics as strategic sourcing, supplier management, development and supplier diversity.

Anthony Santiago, C.P.M., is vice president and chief procurement officer at WellPoint, Inc. Santiago has sourcing responsibility for a broad range of spend categories, including marketing services and materials, IT hardware and software, capabilities sourcing, consulting, and professional services, facilities, energy and utilities. Santiago is the former vice president, global sourcing and supplier management for Bristol-Myers Squibb.

Ronald Schnur is former vice president, procurement and supplier management for Sears Holdings Corporation, where he was responsible for procurement and supplier management activities for all nonmerchandise goods and services. He is also a former vice president, strategic sourcing for Coors Brewing Company.

Deborah Webber, CPSM, C.P.M., senior vice president at Institute for Supply Management™, is corporate treasurer for the ISM Board of Directors. In addition, Webber is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the institute, which include communications, customer service, accounting, information systems/technology and the Web site, purchasing/contracting, human resources, affiliate support and meeting planning.

ISM Bylaws stipulate a 15 member Board of Directors, 13 voting and two non-voting. The CEO is a voting member of the Board. The remaining voting members have a term of office, that, when that term is completed, the individual rotates off the Board. The complete ISM Bylaws can be accessed on the ISM Web site at Select About ISM, and then Association Governance.

As the largest supply management institute in the world, the mission of Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) is to lead supply management. By executing and extending its mission through education, research, standards of excellence, influence building and information dissemination — including the renowned monthly ISM Report On Business® — ISM continues to extend the global impact of supply management. ISM is a not-for-profit membership association serving more than 40,000 supply management professionals in 75 countries. ISM offers credentialing to professionals around the world with the Certified Professional in Supply Management® (CPSM®) qualification. ISM is a member of the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management (IFPSM).