Door Is Open for Online Applications for 2009 ISM R. Gene Richter Awards

FOR RELEASE: July 15, 2008

Media Contacts:
ISM Public Relations
Jean McHale
800/888-6276, extension 3143

Lindsey Yentes
800/888-6276, extension 3087

Supply management organizations invited to apply via ISM Web site July 1 to September 19, 2008.

(TEMPE, Ariz.) July 15, 2008 — For the past three years, Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) has recognized innovative supply organizations that through strong leadership have dramatically increased their contribution to organizational success. ISM is now accepting entries for the fourth annual ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management. The award competition was created to honor the vast professional contributions of R. Gene Richter, who was a pioneer in the field of supply management.

The ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management are open to supply management departments of all sizes and geographic locations, both domestic and international. ISM is accepting entries through an online submission process from July 1 to September 19, 2008. Entries should address big challenges for which new solutions have had wide organizational and/or supply chain impact. Multiple entries are welcomed in one or more of four categories: Process, People, Organization/Structure and Technology. For the 2009 awards, the project/initiative must either (1) have been completed and/or implemented or (2) have measurable outcomes within the date range of October 1, 2005 through September 30, 2008.

An application fee of $1,000 per organization is required for 2009 award applications. Organizations that submit multiple applications will only be charged this fee once, regardless of the number of applications they submit.

Richter award recipients will be notified in January 2009 and will be honored at an awards dinner on Sunday, May 3, 2009 at the ISM Annual International Supply Management Conference and Educational Exhibit in Charlotte, North Carolina. Winning organizations agree to present a Conference session describing their project.

The 2009 award winners will join an esteemed group of previous winning organizations including: Alltel Wireless; BP p.l.c.; DaimlerChrysler; Fluor-Hanford; HP; Johnson & Johnson; KLA-Tencor; Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company; Masco Corporation; Pfizer Inc; Rockwell Collins; and Royal KPN Telecom.

For information on entry categories, to apply for the 2009 awards or to download the 2008 Richter Award Winners Brochure, visit the ISM Web site at Questions regarding the awards may be directed to Scott Sturzl, C.P.M., at 800/888-6276, extension 3105 (or, for callers outside the United States, +1 480/752-6276, extension 3105), or by e-mail at

As the largest supply management institute in the world, the mission of Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) is to lead supply management. By executing and extending its mission through education, research, standards of excellence, influence building and information dissemination — including the renowned monthly ISM Report On Business® — ISM continues to extend the global impact of supply management. ISM is proud to recognize professional excellence in supply management with awards such as the ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management and the J. Shipman Gold Medal Award. ISM's membership base includes more than 40,000 supply management professionals in 75 countries. Supply management professionals are responsible for trillions of dollars in the purchases of products and services annually. ISM is a member of the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management (IFPSM).

Back to Top