--- To enhance the value and performance of procurement and SCM practitioners and their organizations worldwide ---

Supply Organizations Lauded for Contributions to Overall Enterprise Success

FOR RELEASE: May 7, 2007

ISM Media Contact:
Jean McHale
Public Relations Manager
800/888-6276, extension 3143

Additional Media Contacts:

Alltel Wireless
Dale Ingram
Vice President – Public Relations
BP p.l.c.
William Knittle
Global Procurement Director
Procurement Centre of Expertise
+44 (0)7770-847-312
Johnson & Johnson
Andrea Grable
Worldwide Director,
Category Leader

ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management announced at 92nd Annual Conference

(Tempe, Ariz.) May 7, 2007 — Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) today announced winners of its 2nd Annual ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management. Supply departments at three companies were honored in Las Vegas at ISM's 92nd Annual International Supply Management Conference and Educational Exhibit. Awards are announced at an invitation-only dinner and winners present their stories at workshop sessions that are open to all Conference attendees.

Winners were selected from applications received in four categories: Process; Technology; People; and Organization/Structure. The 2007 Richter Corporate Award recipients are:

  • Alltel Wireless (Technology Category)
  • BP p.l.c. (People Category)
  • Johnson & Johnson (Process Category)
Alltel Wireless (Technology Category)

Award Submission

Related Article

Alltel Wireless operates the largest wireless network in the United States, and delivers voice and advanced data services nationwide to nearly 12 million customers. Alltel's Richter Award-winning submission detailed a workflow tool that can assign work, track savings and project status, and provide visibility to the procurement group, business partners and executives throughout the company. The workflow tool was designed, developed and implemented entirely by the Procurement and Logistics Group (PLG) employees.

BP p.l.c. (People Category)

Award Submission

Related Article

Energy company BP p.l.c.'s Richter Award-winning submission detailed its Rapid Sourcing Team, a program developed by BP's procurement organization to develop and train new university recruits into the organization in support of long-term succession planning.

Johnson & Johnson (Process Category)

Award Submission

Related Article

Johnson & Johnson's (J&J) procurement organization launched its Consulting Sourcing Initiative for North America in March 2005. Johnson & Johnson's Richter Award-winning submission detailed the successful development and implementations of category management practices to manage consulting spend. Process enhancements led to improved spend categorization and visibility, significant increases in benefit realization, and the expansion of procurement's perimeter into this traditionally elusive spend category.

Named after supply management leader and innovator R. Gene Richter, the ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management were established to recognize innovative supply organizations of all sizes and geographic locations that through strong leadership have dramatically increased their contribution to organizational success.

Goals of the ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management are:

  • Identify and share leadership and innovation in supply management practice within supply management departments.
  • Provide recognition to supply management departments receiving awards.
  • Promote supply management as a strategic contributor to the organization.
  • Enhance the profession in the eyes of senior management.
  • Demonstrate leadership and innovation practice through conferences, ISM publications, case studies and other media.

"During his lifetime, Gene Richter was a leader and innovator in managing complexity and risk," says ISM CEO and Richter Awards Oversight Committee Member Paul Novak, C.P.M. "Our blue-ribbon oversight committee of senior supply executives and academics have singled out 2007 winners who capture the essence of his stellar career."

Sponsors for the 2nd Annual ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management are:

Platinum: HP (www.hp.com); SAS (www.sas.com)
Gold: Ariba, Inc. (www.ariba.com); A.T. Kearney Procurement Solutions (www.atkearney.com); BP International Ltd. (www.bp.com); UGS (www.ugs.com)
Silver: ADR International Purchasing Consultants (www.adrna.com); eclaro international (www.eclaro.com); IBM (www.ibm.com); MeadWestvaco (www.meadwestvaco.com)
Bronze: Black & Decker (www.bdk.com); Fieldglass Inc. (www.fieldglass.com), Perfect Commerce (www.perfect.com); Rearden Commerce (www.reardencommerce.com)

The third annual R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management call for entries will open July 2, 2007. For more information visit www.ism.ws/RichterAwards.

As the largest supply management institute in the world, the mission of Institute for Supply Management™ (ISM) is to lead supply management. By executing and extending its mission through education, research, standards of excellence, influence building and information dissemination — including the renowned monthly ISM Report On Business® — ISM continues to extend the global impact of supply management. ISM is proud to recognize professional excellence in supply management with awards such as the ISM R. Gene Richter Awards for Leadership and Innovation in Supply Management and the J. Shipman Gold Medal Award. ISM's membership base includes more than 40,000 supply management professionals in 75 countries. Supply management professionals are responsible for trillions of dollars in the purchases of products and services annually. ISM is a member of the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management (IFPSM).

Back to Top

Rate and Review this item

Rate this item:

Log in to rate or review this item.